A Black Feather, A poison pen...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blues for a Man in Black

I remember my dad's old Johnny Cash records, i think my mom gave the two or three of them he had to one of my uncles. At Folsom Prison, a "Hits" collection and another one i think, but can't rightly remember anymore... It was funny though, a couple of years after my dad died, i started listening to that stuff, where i had been totally ambivalent to any sort of country music before, just some of the things i was up to and living through at those points in time gave me an appreciation for the hard-living types like Hank Williams (Senior, never Junior) Waylon Jennings (who in a different, earlier time raised a lot of hell in some of the same parts of this town that i did) Willie Nelson, and of course The Man in Black himself.


My father never told me all the stories i'm sure he wanted to tell, and i can guess he never crossed quite as many lines as i managed to, but after he was gone, maybe it's the images of that time that Cash's older music conjures up, but i almost feel like i could finally relate to "The Old Man" in ways i couldn't when he was around, as time wore on i found myself drawn to a lot of the music i associate with my dad...the old style Mexican music, groups and people like Los Alegres de Teran, Ramon Ayala, and Pedro Infante (though i still prefer the swing of good Cuban music a little more)




Folsom Prison Blues


I hear the train a-comin'

It's rollin' 'round the bend

And I ain't seen the sunshine

since

I don't know when

I'm stuck in Folsom Prison

And time keeps draggin' on

But that train keeps rolling

On down to San Anton'



When I was just a baby

My mama told me "Son,

Always be a good boy

don't ever play with guns"

But I shot a man in Reno

Just to watch him die,

When I hear that whistle blowin'

I hang my head and cry



I bet there's rich folks eatin'

In a fancy dining car

They're prob'ly drinking coffee

And smokin' big cigars

Well I know I had it comin'

I know I can't be free

But those people keep a-movin'

And that's what tortures me



Well if they freed me

from this prison

If that Railroad train was mine

I bet I'd move it on

A little farther down the line

Far from Folson Prison

That's where i want to stay

And I'd let that lonesome whistle

Blow my blues away

2:31 a.m. - 2003-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a jump to the left - a step to teh right

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alkalinetrio
chanaka
gallinula
xdamagedx
lady-is-j
lucidmemory
chrupemokid
observations
as-i-slept
steeltrain
ashesraven
tristisest
lullabyecure