A Black Feather, A poison pen...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Noel and Neurosis

Thanks to a few unanticipated extra expenses that cropped up between then and now, i only finished the main body of my mad dash through the land of consumer culture last night.


I still owe my one of my nephews, the Mermaid, and a couple of other friends a Dhristmas present, as well as my oldest nephew's de-facto step-son. In the case of one nephew, it was a case of wait-and-see to see what he DID get so i could avoid the problem of overlap, with the Mermaid and a couple of others it's a case of not being quite sure what to get that manages to be both thoughtful and clever without saying more than i have room or standing to say, and as for my presumptive great-nephew, well since he's not quite two, if i can find anything that is suitably noisy, brightly coloured and not a choking hazard, then i'm golden.


Then there's a matter of one of my co-workers and the latent attraction i have toward her. But this time around i'm going to keep my mouth shut because i think it's safe to assume the following things:


A) The attraction is presumptively one-sided - unlike the last time i found myself in this situation, i am not being regularly flirted with nor is there a third party in the office encouraging my actions


B) She has a kid, and while i may make a cool uncle (as my nephews and neices will generally attest) and i really like the little guy, i doubt (assuming anything were to come of a potential relationship) that i come anywhere near being a suitably, competent, patient father figure.


C) I'm not exactly in as secure a state of being as someone my age should be, which is one of the key factors in why i tend to feel insecure and underconfident whenever faced with the issue of attraction... that, and having the kind of looks that careers that don't involve being in front of a camera are built on (the proverbial "face for radio" if you will)


So, taking all of those factors into consideration, I'm just going to ignore this tendency toward attraction this time around.



Oy, happy holidays, folks

11:18 p.m. - 2003-12-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a jump to the left - a step to teh right

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alkalinetrio
chanaka
gallinula
xdamagedx
lady-is-j
lucidmemory
chrupemokid
observations
as-i-slept
steeltrain
ashesraven
tristisest
lullabyecure