A Black Feather, A poison pen...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a plethora of the perfunctory

Took the day off, did a little housecleaning and put up that furniture i got the other day...


all the pieces had been taking up my kitchen and i had to get the old stuff out before it drove me nuts.


Funny thing about the bed-frame i just put up... bit of hand-me-down furniture that has, after its very own long strange trip, come full circle.


It used to be a waterbed ages and ages ago, back when it was my sister living in this apartment-space. I can't say i care too much for the style, too much of that rather "early-american" style woodwork... but what the hell, saves me the time and trouble of having to shop for it.


The expense wouldn't have been any real trouble, i know of a couple of decent shops where i found some resonably cool furniture at an okay price, but not having a truck and finding how reluctant some shops were to deliver into my neighborhood, it was starting to be a pain in the ass.


besides, it was a good day to take off, i had no flaming urgent projects on my desk, so all i would have had was to fix the archive paperwork that one of our short-lived interns fucked up in spite of what i thought were fool-proof instructions


Had no word on whether or not anyone found the mystery document that my boss had me chasing yesterday. I called the project's originator at her office and hit voice-mail, which hadn't been returned by the time i left the office at 5:45 pm yesterday


Old attempt to solicit a contract for privatized mailing services for a cluster of smaller agencies... fun, exciting stuff. Most of the professional services contracts i deal with when i work in support of the contract officers can be some monumentally tedious stuff... i have more fun dealing with commodities contracts and occasionally some of the IT stuff...


I can't help but laugh to think that before i came to work in that place, i never even knew it existed


a few more details yet to iron out before the new system goes live, so in the meantime, when my usual boss has no specific purpose for me, i volunteer my assistance to the Grey Lady and her projects


and even when the tasks we work on are boring, we have ourselves a hell of a time talking shit about some of the idiocy that crosses our path sometimes. and i could guess that if anyone with the right connections ever heard some of the shit we say about some of the sacred cows within our own agency as well as some of the others in the power structure that we had hoped to see disappear with the regime change, they'd fire us both, and not just in that out-of-a-job sense, but out-of-a-cannon over the plaza as well


Like i said before, if my office was a movie, she'd be the crazy aunt.


so anyway, here i am, feeling relatively rested from my day off, even though i did just as much grunt work around my house as i would have done at the office, i've got my hand-me-down furniture, which, to return to subject after that string of tangents, started its life of sleepy utility in this house, was taken to one apartment on the west-side of town by my brother and his wife and then another, went with them to CCTX while they were there and came to the front house for the last four years and just a few days ago, completed its journey, making it's way, unassembled, back through this door, pillowtop mattress replacing its watery, maintenance-nightmare counterpart


It also saves me the trouble of having to buy a chest of drawers, because it already has 8 drawers and some small cabinet space underneath it. a definite improvement over the lurking danger of unplanned body piercing i was loking at with my old, threadbare antique of a mattress and clunky old fossil of a bed


yeah, this entry has been a whole lot of time and space for the mundane. meanwhile, the clock ticks relentlessy on... five days from the anniversary of the biggest mistake two people ever made during the early 70's

9:59 p.m. - 2003-03-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a jump to the left - a step to teh right

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alkalinetrio
chanaka
gallinula
xdamagedx
lady-is-j
lucidmemory
chrupemokid
observations
as-i-slept
steeltrain
ashesraven
tristisest
lullabyecure